Toaster oven chocolate chip cookies

Last night after we got home from Nikko, I decided I wanted chocolate chip cookies.  For dinner.  Don’t judge. :-)  One problem: there are two things that Japan is sorely lacking in: chocolate chip cookies, and ovens.  I miss having a real kitchen, with an oven, and baking!!!  And since the only chocolate chip cookies available at the convenience store down the street are weird, crunchy, tiny cookies, I decided to see what my toaster oven could do.

I started looking around on the internet for a recipe for chocolate chip cookies that could be easily halved/reduced to make cookies for one person, as well as modified to use the ingredients I have on hand (which mostly, don’t lend themselves to baking, and the grocery store just seemed too far to walk to tonight).  I like to think I’m a relatively adaptive/creative cook, but definitely not that creative when it comes to baking, so I wasn’t sure if it was going to be possible.  But then I stumbled upon the blog Sweet Tooth Sweet Life, and this recipe for banana oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.  I have oatmeal – thanks to the wonders of online shopping and international shipping – and had a banana that either needed to be frozen or used, so I thought I’d try it out.

I halved the recipe, used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose (I have no idea how to read “all-purpose flour” in Japanese – but the whole wheat is labeled in English…no idea why) and 1 small banana + 1 egg, instead of 1 medium banana + 1/2 egg, mixed everything together,

and baked in the toaster oven for 5 minutes.

They started to get a little brown around the edges but were still wet looking in the middle, so I left them in the toaster oven for 2-3 minutes after it turned itself off to let the residual heat cook them a little more gently.

The result?

They’re not half bad!  I’ve already eaten 5 of the 9 that I made – with milk, of course – and will probably finish them off this weekend.  I could see crumbling them into some yogurt and strawberries for breakfast….just sayin’.  They’re a little dense – almost like a cake – but I think that’s because of the whole wheat flour.  Crunchy on the outside, and chewy on the inside, like a cookie should be.  I bet if one actually followed the recipe, and used a real oven, they would be amazing!  Definitely not your typical chocolate chip cookie, but I love oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, and the banana just added a little extra goodness.  And since they’re made with whole wheat flour, banana, oatmeal, and I ate them with milk….it’s almost healthy, right?? :-)

Nikko today was fun!  The tour was all in Japanese, so I’m not sure how much I learned, but it was gorgeous!  I’ll put pictures up soon, I promise…

This entry was posted in cooking, toaster oven. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Toaster oven chocolate chip cookies

  1. mom says:

    Amazing. It is said that necessity is the mother of invention. Chocolate chip cookies are considered a necessity in Chow households. This will need to be replicated in a real oven when you come home.

  2. Laura says:

    I am amazed at your use of the toaster oven. You need to be on the Food Network!
    I’d call it Chow Toaster!

    • crchow says:

      haha thanks!! I would love to be on the Food Network….I’m not sure if I have enough ideas for awesome toaster oven recipes, but that would be a pretty amazing show.

  3. Caroline says:

    i have to agree, that was a pretty impressive show of creativity. i’m disappointed that Japan doesn’t have chocolate chip cookies. how sad. you should share the yumminess of chocolate chip cookies with all of Japan.

    dad tried making italian bread today. it was pretty good, except that he used non-bleached wheat flour instead of bleached white flour (or whatever normal flour is called) because we don’t have any normal flour in our house (thanks to Kels). so the bread was really dense, like your cookies! now we know that wheat flour was the culprit of making dad’s bread so heavy.

    • crchow says:

      oh, Kelsey and her super healthy eating ways. italian bread sounds yummy! does he have new little pets in the fridge? I bet if he uses bread flour it would turn out even better than if he used regular all-purpose flour – I think bread flour has more gluten, which also helps with the texture. there’s more chemistry in the kitchen for ya!

Leave a Reply

